Anything Can Be . . .

This is not a sad tale.  Not really.  There are, however, less than cheery aspects to it.  Every year I make a few short side trips to check on this tree.  Just to see how it’s doing.  Long ago, and there’s no telling how long ago that was, someone unceremoniously took a saw to this decades-old thing.  The trunk, left strangely high, has no bark and it gives no sign as to what kind of tree it used to be.  Or still is.  I say that because if you look at the photos you will see a few scraggly limbs that shoot straight up from the tree’s remains.

And every spring, those few spindly limbs explode with lush, verdant leaves – out of all proportion for the stunted limbs’ height and heft.  It’s an amazing thing to behold.  I suppose since the trunk was left oddly high it gives those limbs enough of a boost to reach and grab the sun.  It shouldn’t really be able to survive, these flimsy limbs.  But they do and I can’t wait until they once again unfurl their emerald gifts.  The limbs seem to say “take what you must, take what you must, of what I’ve lost . . .  but let me retain a bit of what I am.”  I wonder sometimes if I’m the only one that sees this.  It’s easy to miss such an insignificant thing in life’s hectic pace. 

And the scene reminded me of a favorite poem, which I recently rediscovered.  One I hadn’t read in years.

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child.

Listen to the don’ts.

Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts.

Listen to the never haves,

then listen close to me . . .

Anything can happen, child.

Anything can be.”

Photos by Joel Woodard.  Poem by Shel Silverstein

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, Interior Design and Style, Lifestyle, photography, Style, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

