Fields of Gray

 

Fields of Gray

by Bruce Hornsby

 

When the night lies so still

Before I go to sleep

I come by, I come by

Just to look at you

In the dim light I say

That in my own small way

I will try, I will try

To help you through

 

There’ll be blue skies falling

There’ll be sad scenes and bad dreams

In a world so uncertain

Through the clouds it’s hard to see

I will grab you and lift you

As you hold on tight and sway

We’ll go walking

Across the fields of gray

 

There’s a place I can go

When the world gets me down

When nothing, when nothing

Goes quite right it seems

As I look there I know

Fortune smiles on me so

But who knows, no one knows

About tomorrow

 

There’ll be blue skies falling

There’ll be sad scenes and bad dreams

In a world so uncertain

Through the clouds it’s hard to see

I will grab you and lift you

As you hold on tight and sway

We’ll go walking

Across the fields of gray

 

When I was younger I saw things in black and white

Now all I see is a sad, hazy gray

Sometimes I see a narrow flash of light

Sometimes I look and you show me the way

 

No matter what else happens

What the future will be

In a world so uncertain

Through the clouds it’s hard to see

I will grab you and carry you

Calm your fears if you’re afraid

We’ll go walking

Across the fields of gray

 

Photo by Joel Woodard; Lyrics to “Fields of Gray” by Bruce Hornsby

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

