Whadda Lotta Bull

As you may know from reading Rustic Chic, I’m big on breaking routine to explore new sights.  So imagine my surprise when I came across a herd of Texas Longhorns in my neighborhood!  These guys are all very handsome with beautiful markings and a few sporting their trademark (and a little scary) horns.  I must confess I didn’t know much about Longhorns and my only experience with cows to date was as a youngster and visiting my maternal grandfather’s farm where he kept a few Black Angus for beef and a couple of Jersey cows for milk and butter. 

Wikipedia research indicates that the dramatic horns of a Texas Longhorn can span up to 7 feet from tip to tip,and that the breed is long-lived with an exceptionally long breeding life. 

As I approached this small herd, corralled behind (what appeared to be, I hoped) a high fence, the Longhorns appeared curious and walked over to where I was standing.  Fortunately it was a nonchalant saunter and not a full-press charge! 

Photos by Joel Woodard

2 Comments

Filed under Food and Drink, Gardening, Interior Design and Style, Lifestyle, photography, Portraiture, Style

2 responses to “Whadda Lotta Bull

  1. Jack Caddell

    Hi Joel. I have not seen longhorns up close before! They have very kind eyes. Thanks for sharing, they are really beautiful creatures.

Leave a Reply

