“Those Boys Could Tear Up An Anvil!”

Incised Blacksmith's Anvil marked "Chamouton a Pari", French 1818 through Robert Altman Antiques LLC

As I was recently shopping for antiques at the Interior Design Building at 306 East 61st Street in New York (one of my favorite haunts), I came across the antique anvils shown above and immediately below at Robert Altman LLC.  I was fascinated by how Rustic Chic they looked. 

Now anvils are not usually at the top of my list for “must-haves”, but when I saw how Robert took two heavy antique French anvils and perched them on simple white pedestals, I was amazed at how they were transformed from once-essential farm tool to rustic chic sculpture.

Every time I see an anvil (ok, so it’s not that often), I am transported back to my grandfather’s Alabama farm and can picture the anvil he had in his barn and recall how he used to say that my brother and I “could tear up an anvil”, so I guess we were pretty rough around the joint.  But maybe now that I am older I should look into getting my own “farmer’s friend”.

Asymmetrical Blacksmith's Anvil marked "Becq a Beziers, 595,158K", French, circa early 20th century through Robert Altman Antiques LLC

In addition to the anvils, Robert Altman Antiques LLC has, since 1989, been a very valuable resource for America’s best interior designers and architects.  His inventory is smart and thoughtfully selected and very imaginative.  Robert also produces a handsome line of lighting and furniture and his selections are available through your design professional.  But for a peek at more, visit his web site at www.robertaltmanllc.com.

Like many of you, I have never given the lowly anvil a sustained thought.  But seeing them in Robert’s shop made me want to do a little research.  The image below is an isometric drawing from Wikipedia and shows the various parts of an anvil.  Such a rustic chic, useful barnyard (or household) item to use as sculpture or to shoe Ol’ Paint.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Furniture, Gardening, Home Furnishings, Interior Design and Style, Style, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

