The Egg and I

Set the DVR recorder!!!  Turner Classic Movies is playing the 1947 black and white classic “The Egg and I”, starring Claudette Colbert and Fred MacMurray today at 2 pm EST!!

This very funny movie, based on the autobiography of Betty McDonald, tells the story of two Manhattan newlyweds, played by Colbert and MacMurry, who decide to head to the rurals in hopes of cleaning up in the egg business.  This they don’t quite accomplish figuratively, but they do so very literally.

The hilarious Marjorie Main, along with Percy Kilbride, play locals Ma and Pa Kettle.  Their characters so struck a chord with film audiences they were given their own “Kettle” series of B pictures.

Tune in for this light-hearted and funny movie.  If you miss it today, TCM is rerunning it on February 22 at 1:45 a.m.  You can always catch it then since, if you’re like me, you’ll be up with the chickens at that time anyway!

3 Comments

Filed under Interior Design and Style, Style, Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Egg and I

  1. Annette

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe!🙂. I’ll go and read some more!

  2. Darn! I meant to watch that. Guess I’ll have to tune in to the 2/22 viewing. If I didn’t have TCM, I don’t know what I’d do!

Leave a Reply

