Is It Summer Already?

It’s not officially winter until tommorrow . . . sigh. . . and I’m tending shop and looking out onto a village covered with the 8″ of powdered fluff we got yesterday.  But for white hot LA fashion designer Trina Turk (www.trinaturk.com), it’s blazing summer already. 

It warmed my cockles mightily when I learned yesterday that Trina and her husband, the equally white hot photographer Jonathan Skow (www.jonathanskow.com), had chosen to use the two changing cabanas I had designed for Trina on the cover of her “Miss Gypset 2010 Summer I Look Book”, which just came out.  Thanks Trina and Jonathan!!!  You guys are great to work with!!!

I was also flattered when, back in April, Trina asked me to design two cabanas for the windows of  her eponymous and, again, white hot and chic retail shop on hip and happenin’ Gansevoort Street in Manhattan.  Her only dictum was that they be made from her beautiful collection of outdoor fabrics from Schumacher (www.fschumacher.com) and to “think Tony Duquette”.  

I selected her “Peacock” pattern in color “pool” for the exterior of the tents and lined them with the vibrant “Zebra” pattern in color “bamboo”.   I kept the lines of the cabanas long, lean and simple with clean tailored valances so as to disrupt the patterns of the fabric as little as possible.  I also used the lining colorway as tiebacks for the cabanas’ privacy panels.

Below are some more of Jonathan’s shots from Trina’s “Miss Gypset” collection showing the cabanas on the beach along with some of my photos showing them in their original home in her Manhattan shop.  I have also included my original inspiration sketch at the bottom. 

Be sure to check out Trina’s website for all her kicky, young and wearable offerings and Jonathan’s website for his beautiful photography on fashion, celebrity and lifestyle.

Can changing cabanas on the beach be rustic chic?  I think not.  But they are just as chic as you can get.  Please pass the suntan lotion and throw another log on the fire while you’re at it.

All fashions by Trina Turk.  Location photography by Jonathan Skow.

2 Comments

Filed under Interior Design and Style, Style, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Is It Summer Already?

  1. hi Joel:
    I just wanted to mention that our summer 1
    look book photo shoot was actually shot at the
    dry lake bed in El Mirage, CA–not the
    beach! The cabanas look fantastic, thanks
    for your work on them. I’m glad they got
    a second life after the NY store installation.
    Happy Holidays! –Trina

Leave a Reply

