A Rustic Chic Centerpiece

I got a lot of emails from readers asking about the concrete fruit and flower basket centerpiece I used in my post from a couple of weeks ago entitled “A Rustic Chic Luncheon at the Shop”.  So I thought I’d haul out the two that I own and do some shots of them. 

I really don’t know much about them; whether they are old or not I haven’t the foggiest.  The smaller one, shown in the foreground above, seems to be made of a different kind of conglomerate than the larger one in the rear.  The smaller one has some particles in it that might be mica.  It gives the faintest twinkle in the light. 

Both pieces weigh a ton and I found them in gardening nurseries that specialize in antique outdoor ornaments. When I came across them they were both caked with mud (too bad it wasn’t moss – but that can always be encouraged with a little buttermilk and moss transplanted from the tree line). 

We keep them inside on tables and they are the perfect thing to use when you don’t have the time or energy to do the more expected floral arrangement.  Their realistic forms, coupled with their interesting textures, are always a topic of conversation at any table when we have guests.  They’re also just the right height as they do not disrupt the diners’ views of each other.  To me, they’re the perfect rustic chic centerpiece.

All photos by Joel Woodard

Leave a comment

Filed under Interior Design and Style, Style, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

